Committee on Economic and Foreign Policies

    The Standing Committee on Economic and Foreign Policies of Parliament has held its first meeting on Monday 14th February 2022. According to its work plan as endorsed by Parliament at the Second Ordinary Session of 2021, the Committee has three (3) meetings to conduct this year.

    The Standing Committee is established by Parliament to perform the fundamental role of scrutinizing government activities. The activities performed by the Committee is governed by Motion No. 4 of 2021 that was approved by Parliament, the Standing Orders of Parliament, the Constitution of the Republic of Vanuatu, and the Parliamentary Services Act [CAP 306].

    On this first meeting, the Committee will consider the following agenda:

    1. Review of the 2020 Annual Report of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and External Trade;
    2. Review of the 2020 Annual Report of the Ministry of Prime Minister;
    3. Inquiry into the Labor Mobility Program.

    Given the current circumstances, the program of the Labor Mobility is one of the revenue “saviors” for the country today during the pandemic. The Committee’s Term of Reference comprise reviewing the policy settings of the labor mobility program, the impact of the program on economy in terms of employment and social cohesion and also to examine the effectiveness and the benefits of the program thus far.

    The committee through this exercise will table a report in Parliament on its findings and recommendations.


    Duration of meeting: 14th February 2022 to 7th March 2022

    Days of sittings: Monday to Friday (except Wednesday mornings, Weekends and Public Holidays)

    Hours of sittings: 8:30 am to 11:30 am; and 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm.


    The members of the Committee on Economic and Foreign Policies are:

    1. Honorable Wesley RASU- Chairman
    2. Honorable Marc MUELSUL- Vice Chairman
    3. Honorable Bakoa KALTONGGA- Member
    4. Honorable Christopher EMELEE- Member
    5. Honorable Jack Norris KALMET - Member
    6. Honorable Ian T. WILSON – Member
    7. ( Vacant )

    For more information, please contact the Committee Secretariat on (678) 22229 / (678) 7749334 or email at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..